Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

RegEx - Parsing Date from File Names

Dave_McClintock
6 - Meteoroid

Hi All,

I am relatively new to using Regular Expressions, especially within Alteryx. I am trying to pull out the date from the file name. 

For more context the file names themselves always have the date in one manor or another. There are several different ways that the files are named given that I am dealing with several thousand files across multiple buildings and different people that created them. The file names contain additional information sometimes, so I want to make sure to only parse the date portion. I got this formula to work for all of the different date formats that I have seen used on my files, I am not able to get this to work correctly when I try adding it to the RegEx tool in Alteryx. 

I am trying to create a new string field that contains only the date portion of the file name. I will then be able to use that later in the workflow and convert from a strong to a date field. Any advice on where I am going wrong would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. 

(\d{1,4})(\.|-)(\d{1,2})(\.|-*)(\d{0,4})

Example Date Formats:

01-06-2020
01-06-20
1-6-20
01-06
1-6

RegEx Date.PNG

3 REPLIES 3
danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

hi @Dave_McClintock 

If you change your expression to this

(\d{1,4})[\.|-](\d{1,2})[\.|-]*(\d{0,4})

you should get all the pieces parsed.  I removed the capture groups from the separators and made the second one optional.   The attached workflow uses a Regex Parse tool to split the dates into 3 fields 

danilang_0-1598980820125.png

Dan

Maskell_Rascal
13 - Pulsar

Hi @Dave_McClintock