Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Reading multiple .xlsm files at once

Tienemientje
8 - Asteroid

Hi all,

I have found a number of topics on reading multiple excel files, but either they are not quite the same as what I want or they are so difficult it is hard for me to understand as I'm quite new to the program.

I have let's say 3 excel files (.xlsm) or more which change on a regular base.  Each of the files has 5 tabs.  The files have the same layout.

On sheet 1 I have customer data.  Sheet 1 has the same column headers in each of the files.

On sheet 2 I have country data.  Sheet 2 has the same column headers in each of the files.  But of course different info then sheet 1.

Sheet 3 is about costs.

What I want to do: Put the 3 (or more) excel files in a folder.  Alteryx should now read "sheet 1" of each excel file and combine this info.  I then want to perform some Alteryx magic on that information and write this to an excel file (I can do this part).

Let us say in a different part of the flow, I want Alteryx to read "sheet 2" of each excel file in the folder and combine the info.  Again I want to perform some Alteryx filters/formulas and in the end write this to a different excel file or different sheet.

I do not want to read each file seperately and pick "sheet 1".  Alteryx should read all files in the folder as it varies how many files I get.

Is this possible?

Thank you.

Kind regards, Tienemientje

4 REPLIES 4
DavidP
17 - Castor
17 - Castor