Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Question about OR Statement

RTD
6 - Meteoroid

Hi all,

I am new to Alteryx, so I am guessing this is something simple; but i cannot figure it out.  (I have tried several variations of iif and if-then, with parenthesis everywhere).  When I run these two statements independently, they each work, but when I try to run them together with an OR, everything comes back as "No".  Can someone give me some guidance?

Statement 1  -  iif (!Contains([Position], 'Center'), 'No', 'Yes')

Statement 2  -  iif (!Contains([Position], 'Operation'), 'No', 'Yes')

Combined Statement - iif (!Contains([Position], 'Center') || !Contains([Position], 'Operation'),'No', 'Yes')

Thank you in Advance!

9 REPLIES 9
CharlieS
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

The way the logic works here is that if either is true, then the condition is true. Try reversing your conditions like this:

IIF(Contains([Position], 'Center') || Contains([Position], 'Operation'),'Yes', 'No')

danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

Hi @RTD

Combining logical negations is always tricky. The formula you have only works if your input contains both Operation and Center. Anything else causes one of the or clauses to be true so the entire statement is true returning 'No'

Or Not.png

Is this the result you want?  If you actually want it to return yes, if it contains 'Operation' or if it contains 'Center'  follow @CharlieS

Dan

RTD
6 - Meteoroid