Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Problem with Workflow

CeesayN
7 - Meteor

Hi everyone,

I am new to Alteryx and I am working through a workflow I am putting together. I have a problem where I want to be able to do the following:

• I want the workflow to look in the description line where there is an 8 digit number, then copy that across and call the new column Additional PO then create another column called PO 2 and copy across the contents of Purchase Order Number column and the newly created Additional PO column.

• I want the workflow to look in the amounts column and identify contras (e.g -100 and +100) and where there is, then check that department code, account code, business unit code, PO 2 and location code for both are the same. If this condition is met, then remove both entries else leave them.

I would appreciate your help and I have attached a sample data to help.

Kind regards

Nuha

11 REPLIES 11
danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

Hi @CeesayN 

You have a few different types of 8 digit numbers in the data.   

1. the line starts with a yyyymmdd string

2. The 8 digit number is part of an adjustment record as in "P10-19 Tech Nominal Recodes Adjustment GBP ~ 11503920-0001-SETEL LTD -Network Support & Connectivity -Recode to 75807"

3.  There are also instances of the line ending in a 10 digit number

I think you're looking for case 2, but some clarification would be appreciated

Dan

JosephSerpis
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @CeesayN  I believe I mocked something up that give you the output you describe but please let me know if there are any issues?

Duplicates_Removal.JPG

Srini_Advik
7 - Meteor

Srini_Advik
7 - Meteor

CeesayN
7 - Meteor

Hi @danilang

Thanks for looking at my query.

I think my explanation was not very clear. What I want is the first instance of an 8 digit number but not beginning with a zero.