Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Predictive Analysis Newbie

ahsankhalid
8 - Asteroid

Hi Alteryx, Community, 

I am fairly new to alteryx  and have been using it for basic report creation and  pre  defined mathematical calculations for finance reports. 

I am moving to the predictive side of Alteryx and one of my projects is to predict if a lead will turn into an opportunity or not. 

We have 8 years of old data which I can use as a model data. 

Can anyone point me towards some relevant threads on this or similar kind of topics.

Kind Reagards

Ahsan Khalid

1 REPLY 1
HossC
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Hey @ahsankhalid,

Here are a few resources that @SydneyF and I have pieced together:

First, we recommend checking out the One Stop Shop for Predictive Resources, which has links to a ton of awesome content involving our predictive tools!

Second, for your specific situation, it sounds like you are trying to predict a binary variable (a categorical variable that can take on 2 values: yes the lead turned into an opportunity or no the lead did not turn into an opportunity). Here is a useful thread on developing a binary classification model.

There are several modeling techniques available in Alteryx for estimating a binary variable, including: Logistic Regression, Boosted Model, Decision Tree, Forest Model, Naive Bayes Classifier, Neural Network, Spline Model, and Support Vector Machine. Alteryx has a built in workflow that demonstrates all of these models, which can be found in designer by following this path: Help -> Sample Workflow -> Predictive Analytics -> 11 New Donor. However, since you are new to the predictive tools in Alteryx, we suggest that you focus on a single tool at first.