Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Pass Drop down Option to filter

sbjkiss
7 - Meteor

I am new to Alteryx, testing it out for our company.  First post!!  

Drop down troubles:

sbjkiss_0-1596638173855.png

I am trying to pass a variable from a drop-down to a filter, allowing the user to pick a city to run the report against.   

The drop down populates correctly in the wizard:

sbjkiss_1-1596638357625.png

The default is set to Alexandria_LA.

I noticed I am not given the option to set the expression.  (I assume this is where the issue resides.)

sbjkiss_2-1596638474870.png

I have the filter set as a custom filter with the intent of bringing forward the value from the drop down. 

sbjkiss_3-1596638517347.png

It must be a simple oversight.  Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you in advance,

7 REPLIES 7
JeffG
6 - Meteoroid

Hi!

In the action tool, click the "Replace a Specific String" checkbox. Then remove all text except Alexandia_LA in the below text box (be sure to remove the quotation marks as well). The action tool is current trying to replace the entire filter formula, but this will help limit it so it is only replacing the location it is filtering against. 

Best,

Jeff

sbjkiss
7 - Meteor

sbjkiss_0-1596643074269.png

The suggestion does not seem to correct the issue 😞

JeffG
6 - Meteoroid

When you run the workflow as an App, what are you currently seeing?

sbjkiss
7 - Meteor

I see the functional drop down and then a statement that there was no output.  However If I run the browse the baseline data, as if the filter didn't change anything, the default filter value is there.

sbjkiss_0-1596646531974.png

When I set up an output file it came back empty with just the column headers.

JeffG
6 - Meteoroid