Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Parsing multiple json files in a directory to a single output

synergy825
8 - Asteroid

Hello,

I am fairly new to Alteryx.  Is there a way to combine multiple json files to be parsed into a single output like a CSV file or hyper file for Tableau?

In the attached workflow, the top line is running correctly for a single json file.  I tried replicating it in so that it is looking at a directory instead on the second line where I will be storing multiple json files.  However, I'm not quite sure how to complete the flow.  Any help would be greatly appreciated!

5 REPLIES 5
Felipe_Ribeir0
16 - Nebula

Hi @synergy825 

Try to replace the file by files\*.json. Be sure to keep the same delimiter and the rest of the config.

Felipe_Ribeir0_0-1675374287701.png

binuacs
20 - Arcturus

@synergy825 one way of doing this with the batch macro

binuacs_0-1675374391796.png

synergy825
8 - Asteroid

Thank you @binuacs and @Felipe_Ribeir0 !

BS_THE_ANALYST
14 - Magnetar

@synergy825 Great idea using the directory tool. You can certainly continue with your thought process. You just need to tweak a few things to get it up and running. The directory tool will provide you with data about your files, depending on where you are pointing it. You want to point the directory to the folder that contains the multiple JSON files you mentioned. This tool will go into that folder, and find the files and information related to those files for you. This is useful, as we can use the FullPath information that the directory tool will give us. Therefore, we can pull those files into our Alteryx workflow as we have their FullPaths.