Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Parsing a LOT of JSON

CharleyMcGee
6 - Meteoroid

Ok, so I'm pretty new to Alteryx ... blah blah n00b, etc.  Anyway, I'm working on a dataset that is only available to me in JSON, but I need to get it into Postgres.  For that, I need Alteryx to pick up a file that is about half a million lines long, contains ~180 or so records each of which contains ~900 key:value pairs.  I need to drop the bits I don't need, then stuff what's left into Postgres.  I know I haven't described the data terribly well, but you can view it here:  http://static.mwomercs.com/api/mechs/list/full.json

It looks like the JSON parser sort of expects to find a single record per file.  How can I work around this?

Thanks!

6 REPLIES 6
RodL
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Use a Summarize tool, where you Group By the field that identifies the "record", and then Concatenate the actual data with a "space" as the Separator.

This will put it in a format of a single record for each record in your data. Then you connect the JSON Parse tool to that and it should get you the parsed data.

JohnJPS
15 - Aurora

I found it pretty difficult to work with also, even the R tool ("fromJSON" from the rjson library) didn't do very well.  I was able to convert it to a csv using C# but am not sure if the result will be useful to you. This is based on http://stackoverflow.com/questions/32961051/convert-nested-json-to-csv.  The resulting .csv is attached (hopefully).

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Threading.Tasks;
using Newtonsoft.Json.Linq;

namespace processJson
{
    class Program
    {
        static void Main(string[] args)
        {