Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Parse only certain components of .txt file to Excel

Chris_Waspe
7 - Meteor

Hi

I am very new to Alteryx and have a side project I am working on. I have a single .pdf file with multiple Tax invoices. I have parsed that file to a txt doc. I am trying and completely failing at extracting only the required information from that document. All that is required from the doc is the Cell Number, Invoice Number, the billed items for each invoice and the amount of those items. The number of billed items varies for each invoice. I have attached a small section of the txt doc and the desired excel output. If anyone could help with this problem it would be greatly appreciated.

8 REPLIES 8
DavidP
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Perhaps there's a more elegant way, but here's my solution

cellular.png

DavidP
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

It looks like the 3 amounts on the itemised lines are Net VAT and Gross, but you've only asked for Net. Let me know if you want the other 2 as well.

estherb47
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Hi @Chris_Waspe 

@DavidP 's solution looks great. Another approach is to start by filtering out only the pieces you need, and then creating one row with all of those pieces by using a Summarize tool. From there, a few RegEx parses (one to parse out the cellular and invoice numbers, one to parse multiple billed items into rows, and the final one to parse out the billed items into columns), and a record ID tool to add unique identifiers per row.