Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Parse Name, Address Line 1, City, State and Zip

itssumanb
8 - Asteroid

Hello friends, 

My dataset has the name of the store, address line 1, City, State, and 5-digit Zip code, all in one cell of Excel. Picture below. I have also attached the Excel file. Essentially I would like to have each of these in a separate column. I am fairly new to Alteryx and am struggling to figure out how I can achieve my goal. Any kind of help is much appreciated. Thank you so much! 

itssumanb_0-1605883495082.png

8 REPLIES 8
atcodedog05
22 - Nova
22 - Nova

Hi @itssumanb 

Here is a workflow for the task.

You parse tool with below config:

atcodedog05_0-1605884253743.png

(.*)\s(\w*),\s(\w*)\s(\w*)

Output:

atcodedog05_1-1605884280147.png

Hope this helps 🙂

If this post helps you please mark it as solution. And give a like if you dont mind 😀👍

PhilipMannering
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

@atcodedog05 I think you're missing Address Line 1. And City is sometimes missing the first word.

Here's my best attempt.. It's a little clumsy because it's difficult separating the address line 1 from the city.

itssumanb
8 - Asteroid

Hi

itssumanb
8 - Asteroid

Hi Philip! 

This is perfect. Anything I need to be careful of as my input data contents may change every time I run my workflow? Thank you so much again! 

atcodedog05
22 - Nova
22 - Nova

@itssumanb 

Replay back on this post tagging @PhilipMannering he will be able to help you help you out if you face any more issues on this 🙂

Its free text, little risky 😉

atcodedog05
22 - Nova
22 - Nova

Hi @PhilipMannering 

I just saw your regex. manh! its intense 😅

Amazing work 😎

itssumanb
8 - Asteroid