Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Parse Error Using Customer Filter

ldean
8 - Asteroid

Dear Alteryx Community,

I am new to Alteryx and am trying to use the custom filter to get alteryx to choose data where the record id equals Customer_id or Customer_Postcode or Store_id or Annual_visits or Avg_Spend_GBP.

The parse error is at character 11 which is the first equals sign. The error says "Invalid Type in Operator ==."  I don't understand what I am doing wrong.

I would appreciate any help you can give.

Lisa

21 REPLIES 21
atcodedog05
22 - Nova
22 - Nova

Hi @ldean  

It might be datatype mismatch issue.

I have a question are you trying to compare 2 columns RecordID and CustomerID

or

Are you trying to compare column RecordID has value CustomerID

If you are trying to compare 2 columns it should be

[RecordID]=[Customer_id]

compare whether  [RecordID] is "Customer_id"

Tostring([RecordID])="Customer_id"

TheOC
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

hi @ldean 

This is most common when you are trying to compare a numeric field with a string. Given that your trying to compare Record ID with "compare ID" (a string). Then i suspect that your recordID is a numeric field (or not a string field). 

Apply a select before the filter, and make sure that the recordID field is a string type.

Bulien
MarqueeCrew
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

@ldean ,

I'm explicitly making everything a string.  The fields all need to be either strings or numeric data types. 

tostring([record id]) IN (tostring([Customer_id]),tostring([Customer_Postcode]), tostring( [Store_id]), tostring( [Annual_visits]), tostring([Avg_Spend_GBP]))

cheers,

mark

Alteryx ACE & Top Community Contributor

Chaos reigns within. Repent, reflect and restart. Order shall return.
Please Subscribe to my youTube channel.
ldean
8 - Asteroid