Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Output to multiple sheets within an Excel file using formula driven file name

DBourke19841
8 - Asteroid

Hi,

I've been using Alteryx for about 6 months and love the tool. I have come across a new issue with one of my workflows which I'm hoping to get some help on.

I am creating 3 output sheets which write to a single excel file on a share drive. 2 of my outputs run as normal and save into the excel file location but the third output is returning the following error message "Unable to Open archive for zipping <File Path> The System cannot find the path specified".

As the file path is the same for the other two outputs which run without incident and the output settings are the same for all three outputs why am I getting this error?

Any guidance would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Donal

6 REPLIES 6
Thableaus
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hey @DBourke19841

Are you using a Block Until Done Tool? How is your output tool configured, could you show us?

Cheers,

ShawnM
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Block Until Done will get you part of the way thereBut you best bet is using the workflow to generate a file path that includes tab (sheet) name.  This will allow you to generate multiple tabs to one document, without that error.  You can use a formula tool to either create an entire file path, or generate a file path using the source data (like in my attached example).  The Output Data tool allows you to use a file path in the data to write to a specific tab in a file, and you can elect to remove the file path from the output data for cleanliness.  Please see the image below and the attache workflow example.

Dynamic File Path.jpg 

DBourke19841
8 - Asteroid