Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Output to CSV remove null value commas

VidyaS
7 - Meteor

Hello,

I'm still new to Alteryx and trying to learn. I've a question regard output to CSV format and I need a header to be added along with details in the CSV. So I tried using the Union tool to add these two data sets and output them to CSV, now Alteryx is adding "," to null values in the first header row as there are more columns in the detail data and header has only two columns. Following is the output of the CSV when opened in notepad.

ABC,GFK,PDQ,XYZ,123,345

Is is possible to output to CSV without the extra comma's in the first row? For example in the following format.

ABC,GFK,PDQ,XYZ,123,345

Attached the sample workflow. Let me know if you need more information or have any questions. 

Thanks in advance!

6 REPLIES 6
CharlieS
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

I don't think your workflow attached appropriately (I was unable to open it), but there's still a few things we can discuss.

- In general, if you want to remove a series of characters from the right side of a string, use the TrimRight( function in a Formula tool. This function will remove every sequential occurrence of the character you specify from the right side of the field or value. In this case, TrimRight("03162018,08,,,,",",") will result "03162018,08".

- In the Input/Output tools, you can specify the Delimiter used for csv files. You could input your csv file using a different delimiter like "|", edit the commas, then output using comma as the Delimiter again.