Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Output Tool - 'Dynamic Filename' feature and 'Tab-Split by Values' feature

owenkosnen
8 - Asteroid

Hello experts,

I am quite new to Alteryx and am wondering if there are some Alteryxians here willing to share advice and/or ideas.

I am currently trying split records into different tabs by values in excel file as output and am utilizing the feature in Output Tool called "Change File/Table Name". At the same time, I also want to make use of the "Change Entire File Path" to generate dynamic file name. But since Output tool only allows one selection of 'feature', I was wondering if you have any idea/suggestion to circumvent this?

Thank you and would appreciate any kind of ideas.

outputfeature.png

11 REPLIES 11
atcodedog05
22 - Nova
22 - Nova

Hi @owenkosnen 

If i understand correctly you want to change filename as well as tab name.

You can write a formula like below.

atcodedog05_0-1603796449037.png

and load on Change filepath

Workflow:

atcodedog05_0-1603796625612.png

Check and let me know

Hope this helps 🙂

If this post helps you please mark it as solution. And give a like if you dont mind 😀👍

Emil_Kos
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @owenkosnen 

I have prepared a mockup workflow for you

Emil_Kos_0-1603796636436.png

If this was something helpful please mark as a solution!

grazitti_sapna
17 - Castor

Hi, @owenkosnen if you are trying to generate two different scenarios such as 

1) Separate tabs in a single file.

2) Separate files grouped by a specific field 

3) If you are trying to generate different files with tab name same to the file name then you can use this workflow.

I have provided 3 solutions. 

grazitti_sapna_0-1603797035825.png

Thanks.