Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Need help with the Command tool

Hakimipous
10 - Fireball

Hello everyone

Last week I was asking how to put a password on a pdf output and it seems (thanks to @jrgo that the cpdf exe is the way to go).

I did try it on Windows via the Command pront and it works fine.

here is what the command looks like: 

"C:\Users\XXX\Desktop\New folder\cpdf.exe" -encrypt AES  "test"  "test" -i "C:\Users\XXX\Desktop\New folder\JohnSmithResume.pdf" -o "C:\Users\XXX\Desktop\New folder\out.pdf"

So basically it takes the file JohnSmithResume.pdf, create a duplicate called "out" with the password "test"

Now where I'm stuck is to make it run on Alteryx via the Command tool. I'm fairly new with this so there is still a lot to learn about, but after reading a bit I've created a workflow where I tried to based on other workflow I've seen, only it doesn't work as it should. My difficulty is that I'm using a formula tool prior to the command tool because I will need the argument to be dynamic. (have to create different password for different files)

I'm uploading here my workflow and file if anyone could give me some light on what I have to change. 

Thanks again! 

12 REPLIES 12
Claje
14 - Magnetar

If you update the "Run External Program" piece of the Run Command tool to run "passBat.bat" it should work.

The problem here is that you are writing out to a bat file and then asking alteryx to run cpdf.exe, instead of using the .bat file that was written for your command.

You may also need to change the "Write Source" settings in this tool so that the "Quote Output Fields" option is set to "Never", and the "First Row Contains Field Names" option is unchecked as these can cause issues.