Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Need help with RegEx Field Parsing

Bren312
8 - Asteroid

Hi all, I’m hoping someone can help me with some RegEx wizardry.  I’ve got an input file with multiple components I need to parse out into columns.  I’m pretty new to using RegEx so I haven’t had much success.  The attached workflow contains the entire Input data set, as well as a sample of the input and how it should be output.  Hopefully this is enough information to get a solution.  Also, I’m using Alteryx Designer 2019.2. 

Thanks everyone!

Bren

8 REPLIES 8
vizAlter
12 - Quasar

Hi @Bren312 — It's good to attach sample/dummy data to know more about your Input file and desired output file, both.

Your attached file does not have data:

vizAlter_0-1600887486591.png

Bren312
8 - Asteroid

Crud; sorry about that!  I just reposted the workflow with dummy info in a Text input so hopefully that fixes it.

David-Carnes
12 - Quasar

@Bren312 !
It took some cleansing to get it to a point where the RegEx wouldn't be stupidly complex.

If you have a need for more than two extra rows of unit numbers then I would wrap the Multi-Row Formula tool into an Iterative macro.  If you need, I can help with that, should the need arise.

Bren312.png

That was an interesting challenge.

Good luck!
David

Bren312
8 - Asteroid

@David-Carnes 

Hi David; first off you’re a freaking pro and I really appreciate you looking at this (and especially the container name you used).

This is super close to what I’m trying to achieve but there’s a few things that need to be tweaked if you’re up for some additional headaches.