Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Need help with Pivot and filter

ndani
7 - Meteor

Hi, I am new to Alteryx and still learning the transform functions. I think I need to use the Cross-Tab for this but could use some help.

I have monthly data broken by year in different rows for the same item. I need to put it all together in a single row/item and at the same time filter for last n months. For example in the the screenshot below, I have filtered data from Apr'20 through Mar'21.

ndani_0-1617652427778.png

I have attached the sample excel file as well. I'd appreciate any guidance.

8 REPLIES 8
Emil_Kos
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @ndani

i dont have access to Alteryx but try using sumarize tool and group by key and sum by month names.

you should be able to figure it on your own in no time!

markcurry
12 - Quasar

Hi @ndani I've attached a workflow which will hopefully do the trick for you.

It calculates the current year and previous month, so at the moment, will give you the 12 months up until March 2021. 

Hope that helps,

Mark

fmvizcaino
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @ndani ,

Here are 2 approaches, the easier and the complete one.

fmvizcaino_1-1617656208674.png

Best,

Fernando Vizcaino

Luke_C
17 - Castor

Hi @ndani 

Like @Emil_Kos  mentioned, you can generally accomplish this with the data transformation tools (summarize, transpose, crosstab). The date filtering and ordering of the output made this a little trickier. 

To accomplish this I did the following:

1. Parse out a date based on the input data (first of the month for each month/year data point)