Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Need a help in if else formula of Alteryx that is not giving desired output

YashikaVaish
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Everyone,

I am new to Alteryx and trying to put a if/else formula in Alteryx to get the desired column.

I want a formula where If my new column "Data source derived" is blank then put value of "column A" otherwise if again my new column "data source derived" is blank then put "column B" if again it is blank then put "column C". 

I am attaching a workflow and input , In the Input "Data Source" column is having desired output for your reference.and also if you will run the attached workflow then you can see the value of "Derived Data Source" column , it is working for first if else only .

Any help is appreciated and Many Thanks in advance!!

5 REPLIES 5
Ladarthure
14 - Magnetar
14 - Magnetar

Hi @YashikaVaish,

you can use a IF formula like the one below :

if [Error category] = 'BD' then 'Error'
elseif IsNull([Data Source Derived]) and !isnull([A]) then [A]
elseif IsNull([Data Source Derived]) and !isnull([B]) then [B]
elseif IsNull([Data Source Derived]) and !isnull([C]) then [C]
else [Data Source Derived] endif

It tests if the field A isnull and the new column is null, if not takes A, then tries with B then with C

The trick is to use elseif to make it easier to read!

Hope it helps!

echuong1
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

I'm a little confused by your example - are you just trying to get the first value out of A, B, C (going left to right) that is not null?