Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

NLP Difficult Parsing Problem

theinsideguy
7 - Meteor

I’m trying to figure out how to perform what I believe to be a difficult parsing problem. I’m new to regex, but I’m not even sure if regex is the way to go here. I have a full paragraph of legal text that looks something like this:

BLAH BLAH 26 U.S.C.S. § 115, blah blah blah blah. BLAH BLAH 26 U.S.C.S. § 116, blah blah blah blah. Blah blah blah blah. Blah blah blah. BLAH BLAH 26 U.S.C.S. § 115 blah blah blah blah. Blah. Blah. Blah.

My goal is to determine if a sentence contains the 116 statute in it, get that sentence and all proceeding sentences, until you hit a sentence with the 115 statute. The bold would be what I’m looking to extract from the paragraph.

Similarly, sometimes the cell contains a paragraph that looks like this.

BLAH BLAH 26 U.S.C.S. § 116, blah blah blah blah. Blah blah blah blah. Blah blah blah. BLAH BLAH 26 U.S.C.S. § 115, blah blah blah blah. According to 26 U.S.C.S. § 116 blah blah blah blah. Blah. Blah. Blah.

In this instance, I still need all sentences from all 116 statutes onward until the 115 stopword (if you will) triggers stoppage. See bold above.

Any ideas how I would approach this?  I’m a little overwhelmed. Thanks for any and all help!

7 REPLIES 7
JoaoLeiteV
10 - Fireball

Good morning @theinsideguy,

I've made an example using a formula, a text-to-columns and a filter. I'm changing "According to" to a delimiter ("|"), then breaking down everything to rows and filtering only rows that contain 116.

JoaoLeiteV_0-1626357888073.png

Please let me know if this worked or if you have any questions!

theinsideguy
7 - Meteor