Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Multiple CSV files convert into multiple yxdb

Mosquito_Killer
5 - Atom

Hi all I'm fairly new to Alteryx, 

I've a requirement where I need to convert all my CSV files (around 120 in total) into separate .yxdb files so that I can run my workflow faster as I've heard yxdb files are processed more quickly.  Any feasible approach to go about doing this task at once? 

I'm currently just aware about manually using 1 CSV file into input tool and then generate output as yxdb and use that output file (yxdb) again separately  as an input tool for the workflow to process. 

I would appreciate if there is a better approach than this which requires less effort

5 REPLIES 5
IraWatt
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hey @Mosquito_Killer,

Yes there is definitely a better approach.

First task is reading in 100's of CSV's at once. To do this you will need the file paths to all of them. If they are all in one folder you can simply use a Data Input Tool and use an asterix in the file path eg C://user/example/CSV folder/* will grab all the files there. If they are in multiple folders then you will need a Directory Tool to get all the file locations then a dynamic input tool to grab the files.

Ones you have the files make sure in the config for the data input or dynamic data input tools you set it to output the file name with the data. You can use this to the create a path for your yxdb's to be saved to using the data output tool.

Mosquito_Killer
5 - Atom

Thanks for the quick turnaround & Apologies for not replying earlier as I had gone for vacation. 

I'm not able to understand how to do the config of input tool to output the file name with the data? 

Like with the output tool I want to generate separate yxdb files for each CSV.