Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Multi-field formula returning null values

MHS
8 - Asteroid

Hello Alteryx Community!

I am having issues with the multi-field tool and my expression returning null values for some rows.  I am trying to calculate the duration between events in seconds and some of the rows are being calculated correctly while others are returning a null value.  

MHS_0-1610648928041.png

I have tried to reformat the change timestamp field into a string and force a date / time format, but nothing has worked.  I am still pretty new to Alteryx so I am guessing that this is an easy fix that someone has encountered before.

Thanks, 

Matt

9 REPLIES 9
messi007
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

Hello @MHS,

Could you share the workflow with the data in order to help you 🙂 

messi007_0-1610651777527.png

Best Regards,

MHS
8 - Asteroid

I thought I had attached it earlier.  

Let me know if this does not work.

Thanks, 

Matt

Qiu
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

@MHS 
I assume you are grouping by authors when using multi row tool  so not suprise you get the null value for the last row.

So what is your desired output?

PS: your last share workflow is locked...😕

Qiu_0-1610672841174.png

messi007
15 - Aurora
15 - Aurora

@MHS,

I agree with @Qiu about the group by.

However could re-share the zipped workflow because the last one is locked.

Best Regards,

MHS
8 - Asteroid

Hi Qiu,

I believe I have uploaded the workflow without encryption so you can access the tools.