Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Multi Row / Multi Field formula: field+-

PiotrJarzyna
6 - Meteoroid

Hi,

I'm new with Alteryx but I found most of the information I need on this portal. However there is one thing which is causing me a lot of trouble and I could not find straight forward answer to my question.

Is there a way of applying formula to a column +-1 the same way I can use Row+- in Multi-Row Formula tool? If so, which tool should I use, Multi-Row or Multi-Field?

Example expression below - in bold you can see what I would like to achieve (obviously this expression does not work).

IF [_CurrentField_] = 10 or [_CurrentField_] = 100 or [_CurrentField_] = 1000 or [_CurrentField_] = 10000 then [Column+1:_CurrentField_] / [_CurrentField_] else [_CurrentField_] endif

What I'm dealing with is a set of data which contains a number of columns which are sorted in a way that in one column is used as an indicator (multiplier) which contains 1 or 100 or 1000 or 10000 and in the next column is always a value (for example 5.6789). What I would like to do is to apply a rule which will divide value by multiplier if multiplier is 100 or 1000 or 10000. I can only determine which column is a multiplier and which contains value by checking if it's content equals 1 or 100 or 1000 or 10000 (this will be consistent through out all of the rows). I would like to avoid creating static column names or id - data may vary between months.

If you need more information, please let me know.

Kind regards,

Piotr

6 REPLIES 6
JohnJPS
15 - Aurora
Hi Piotr,