Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Multi Row / Multi Field formula: field+-

PiotrJarzyna
6 - Meteoroid

Hi,

I'm new with Alteryx but I found most of the information I need on this portal. However there is one thing which is causing me a lot of trouble and I could not find straight forward answer to my question.

Is there a way of applying formula to a column +-1 the same way I can use Row+- in Multi-Row Formula tool? If so, which tool should I use, Multi-Row or Multi-Field?

Example expression below - in bold you can see what I would like to achieve (obviously this expression does not work).

IF [_CurrentField_] = 10 or [_CurrentField_] = 100 or [_CurrentField_] = 1000 or [_CurrentField_] = 10000 then [Column+1:_CurrentField_] / [_CurrentField_] else [_CurrentField_] endif

What I'm dealing with is a set of data which contains a number of columns which are sorted in a way that in one column is used as an indicator (multiplier) which contains 1 or 100 or 1000 or 10000 and in the next column is always a value (for example 5.6789). What I would like to do is to apply a rule which will divide value by multiplier if multiplier is 100 or 1000 or 10000. I can only determine which column is a multiplier and which contains value by checking if it's content equals 1 or 100 or 1000 or 10000 (this will be consistent through out all of the rows). I would like to avoid creating static column names or id - data may vary between months.

If you need more information, please let me know.

Kind regards,

Piotr

6 REPLIES 6
JohnJPS
15 - Aurora
Hi Piotr,
One thing you could try is to fully transpose rows/columns to columns/rows, in which case MultiRow Formula is acting on what used to be columns. When finished, fully transpose back.
Hope that helps!
John
Joe_Mako
12 - Quasar

How about the attached?

dynamic replace.png