Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Multi-Row Formula to multiply one column value against fixed value.

wjohns50
5 - Atom

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to Alteryx, so maybe this is simple, but I've been beating my head against the wall for 4 hours, so I'm calling for help.

I'm trying to create a Multi-Row Formula to multiply the values in column x against the value in Row 2 of column y. Multiplying column x against a specific value in a table would also work. Below is the example with results manually entered for device 1:

Data# of Component 1Component 1 Cost# of Component 2Component 2 Cost
Device 12$2002$40
Device 25 1 
Device 33 7 
Device 44 1 
Device 55 10 
Device 69 6 
Device 72 8 
Device 81 1 

Rate TableCost
Component 1 Cost/unit$100
Component 2 Cost/unit$20

I have 16 different component columns to assemble unique cost formulas that will be applied to 20,000+ rows, but most revolve around multiplying value x against value y, so this will be a good start in troubleshooting the others. Any help would be much appreciated!

5 REPLIES 5
Emil_Kos
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @wjohns50,

I tried to make it dynamic but I am not sure how to complete it from start to finish:

Emil_Kos_1-1615412072333.png

You will need to write 16 formulas... to make it work but it should be quite straightforward.

Emil_Kos_0-1615412037927.png

TomWelgemoed
12 - Quasar

Hi @wjohns50 ,

I think you can get away with just an append here after you've calculated the cost of each item. I hope I've understood you're issue correctly, but I would simply calculate the cost per item, take that cost and it append it back to the data set for it to apply to each line. 

TomWelgemoed_0-1615412158686.png