Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Moving the right text to the right cell

Chalsea
7 - Meteor

Hello community,

I'm pretty new to Alteryx and would love some help!

Maybe this is very simple, but somehow i cannot seem to find the solution: how can i move specific text from one column to another column within a workflow if those values are out of order? Also, how can I do it in bulk if there are many of the scenarios like this? 

For example, 

1. I have a column of string that I need to parse out that looks like this

East/Video/YouTube/20%Off/Toy/LA/Yes/NA/Small/Delivery

2. once it's parsed out, see below, however, some of the value is out of order, for example,

a. under Product column "20% Off" should belong to Price column,

b. and under Price column "Toy" should be belong to Product column,

c. under Promotion "LA" should be long to Market column

d. under Market column "Yes" should belong to Promotion column

e. under Size column "NA" is not useful and can be eliminated

f. under Delivery/Pick up column "Small" should be shifted to Size column

h. under Value 1 "Delivery" should be moved to Delivery column

RegionSourceSiteProductPricePromotionMarketSizeDelivery/Pick upValue 1Value 2Value 3
EastVideoYouTube20% OffToyLAYesNASmallDelivery 

ideally I need them to be like this.  

SourceSiteProductPricePromotionMarketSizeDelivery/Pick up
VideoYouTubeToy20% OffYesLASmall

Delivery

I've attached the excel file and the workflow. Can someone show me how I should do it in the workflow? 

Here is an illustration of the messy data vs cleaned data. Ideally I would love to move all the color blocks that doesn't match the first row to its according color. 

Before:  

Screen Shot 2020-03-10 at 6.35.29 PM.png

After: 

Screen Shot 2020-03-10 at 6.35.36 PM.png

If anyone can send me into the right direction that would be awesome!

Thanks in advance!