Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Most Efficient formula for “Find and Replace” type of requirement

StockMarket
8 - Asteroid

Hello

I am new to Alteryx and I have to design a workflow, which perform a simple “Find and Replace” task on a single field within the csv file. But there are 2 main problems that I am facing, the first one is that there are “ almost 60 comparisons” that have to be made for this find and replace task and secondly, this flow needs to be run on csv files, which have Millions of Rows inside them.

As you can see in the attached sample data file, there is a field named “Ticker” which has got multiple details inside it in the form of a “Large String Value”, which also including the DATE in this format –
“YYMMM” where YY stands for Year in short form like 19 for the year 2019, and MMM stands for 3 digits of the Month, like FEB stands for February and so on for all other months.

Now, my requirement is that I have to actually REPLACE this 5 character “Date” from these large string values with the new 7 character date, which will also include the actual 2 digits of date inside them. Instead of just telling YYMMM, they will actually show the complete date in this format – DDMMMYY, where DD is the date, MMM is the month and YY is the year.

In short, “YYMMM” needs to be replaced with “DDMMMYY”, leaving all other information inside that string value as it is.

For example, the original Ticker value of

“ACC19JAN88260PE” will get converted to “ACC31JAN1988260PE”

means “19JAN got replaced by 31JAN19” ,

and the original Ticker value of “ACC19FEB88260PE”

will get converted to “ACC28FEB1988260PE”

means “19FEB got replaced by 28FEB19”