Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Macros

aparna0208
8 - Asteroid

Hi,

I have no clue about macros and I did see some articles and videos but not able to understand if I can use macros for my logic. I already have a workflow in place to process some excel files where it does bunch of different things. I have to process files one by one with this workflow. I was thinking if there is a way to process all at once. That's when I started playing around with tools and I found this directory tool. This reads all the files in a particular folder which is fine. Now I'm trying to see if there is a way to read all files at a time but process it one by one from start to end through the existing workflow.  Each file from the location needs to go through the whole workflow before moving onto the next file rather than bringing in all of the files together and then run them as one output before splitting out each file right at the end. So I was wondering if this is something that could be achieved with the help of macros. Looking for some help! Thanks in advance.

13 REPLIES 13
aparna0208
8 - Asteroid

@Meet_Nandu 

Yes, you got it right. That's what even I'm looking to do. 

aparna0208
8 - Asteroid

@Meet_Nandu Hi! Could you please provide some thoughts or suggestions on this? I am having a hard time implementing this logic. As I had mentioned earlier, I tried to open your sample workflow but there is some error. This is one of the biggest task I'm trying to do and if I get it to work then it would be great.

I have an existing workflow as seen below where I connect the file that needs to be processed to the input tool and run it every time. Now how do I add macro and directory tool to this existing workflow