Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Macro to iterate through files in a directory

nbt1032
8 - Asteroid

I have a series of Hierarchal XML files in a directory.  When I try to process these files using the Directory and Dynamic Input tool, I am running out of memory - I have this as an open issue with Alteryx - this method is off the table for  now.

As a workaround, I would like to iterate through each file in the directory, processing them one at a time. 

I am a experienced developer, but new to Alteryx. 

I would like to have a source workflow that creates a list of files.  I then want it to read each file and pass a data stream to a macro file for processing.  That macro will then pass back a result stream.  The base function can then do final processiing on this.

Can anyone provide me some high level strategies for performing this?  My first question is how to iterate through each file? 

Thanks,

Marc.

10 REPLIES 10
JordanB
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @nbt1032

I have attached a module (built in alteryx 10.6) which iterates through 13 XML files. You can open up the macro and insert your own workflow. 

Please note the input file within the macro reads the file as a non-delimeted CSV and the rebuilds the XML and parses it out using our summarize and xml parse tool. This may help with your memory issue.

Best,

Jordan Barker

Solutions Consultant

nbt1032
8 - Asteroid

Jordan:

I have a couple of questions about the workflow. 

There is no "explicit" looping of each file in the specified directory.  Is each file processed indvidually in this logic?