Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Looping with unknown , unsure??

michael_franz
8 - Asteroid

Hello,

So i'm new to Alteryx, so I hope I'm creating an apporpriate subject.... I am connected to a sql database. For each customer, we have service teams. Service teams can either be sales person or rep person. There must be atleast 1 of each, but could be 2 or more but the number on the customer is unknown. 95% of the data only has 1 sales or rep, but I have to count for the others

Data Looks like the: (the 2 tables have a UID)

T_Customer

Customer Name      Customer #

Michael Jackson          12345

T_People

Employee           Type             Primary       

Steve                  Sales                Y

Jane                   Sales                N

Amy                    Rep                  Y

Michelle              Rep                  N

Suz                     Rep                  N

I think I need data like this:

Customer Name      Customer #      Primary Sales         Primary Rep        Second Sales       Second Rep      Third Rep

Michael Jackson          12345           Steve                         Amy                        Jane                     Michelle          Suz

But again, not sure how many there are.....

I will also have revenue transactions by customer. My problem with the row format is I got the revenue for each person. Any help appreciated

3 REPLIES 3
KaneG
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Hi Michael,

Firstly, one of the great things about Alteryx is that you can do all your Analysis/Grouping/Organising in one format and then easily turn your data into another format. I say that, because it is going to be a lot easier to work with in a transposed format as there will be an indeterminate number of Sales & Reps for each person...

So, starting with this data:

Customer Name Customer #
Michael Jackson 12345
Tom Jones 23456