Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Loop through rows in text input for dynamic input workflow

jonathan710
5 - Atom

HI All,

I am new to Alteryx and I am trying to create a loop/iterative macro of sorts. I am creating a workflow that has multiple SQL queries that i run using "Text Input" into a "Dynamic Input" which when run together and after some processing (summarize, table, report text, layout) gets sent out via email.

Let's say for the sake of this example, this group of SQL queries/dynamic inputs needs to be run 5 different times, one time for each different input in the WHERE statement of the SQL query, for example I have 5 names I want to iterate the entire workflow through:

SELECT

field_a,

field_b,

field_c,

FROM table_a

WHERE customer_name = 'placeholder'

SELECT

field_d,

field_e,

field_f

FROM table_b,

WHERE customer_name = 'placeholder'

I use the dynamic input tool to replace 'placeholder' with the name i have in the Text Input linked to the dynamic input. 

Is there a way to add all 5 of my names into the Text Input so that the Text Input has 5 rows and that SQL queries above runs 5 different times, once for each name? In the end, I also need to send an email to 5 different people, based on the results of the queries using the 5 different customer names. Is this possible too?

My current solution is to copy paste my entire workflow 5 times and run it all at once, but I was wondering if there was a more efficient solution. Thanks in advance for the help!

4 REPLIES 4
T_Willins
14 - Magnetar
14 - Magnetar

Hi @jonathan710,