Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Looking for help with Batch macros - Monthly sums

jrpaul
7 - Meteor

Hi,

I'm new to Alteryx, but have managed to get my large workflows implemented, except for a couple parts that I was using Tableau Prep for.  I started watching some videos on Macros, but learn better by example, so I'm hoping someone can assist me.  Essentially I have a large data set of visits by date, customer, visit type.  It is updated monthly.   I want to calculate 3-mo, 6-mo and/or 12-mo summaries for some of the visit types by customer and reporting period end date.   This needs to be run each month on all records going back to October 2017, as some historical data can get updated and ID's may change.    I know how to create formulas for calculating time diff between the visit date (month) and the reporting period month.  Less sure about how to build into a macro to repeat the calculation each month, and whether I need to supply a table of end dates (months), since the data may not contain the last day of a given month.   The output is organized by last day of month (reporting period end).  

I attached a small data file looking for 2-mo totals, which I can extend to my larger data set if someone can assist with this example.   Thanks!

Jeff

4 REPLIES 4
afv2688
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Hi @jrpaul ,

If you need to run your calculations from the current date to october 2017 I would recommend you to use in your macro the datetimenow function. It gives you the current date which you can use in conjunction with DateTimeMonth(dt) to select the current month to perform the calculation.

There are many datetimefunctions which you can use to perform your calculations, like DateTimeLastOfMonth() to be able to know the last date of the current month (if needed).