Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Looking for Help in Understanding How Variables Affect the Model

gumbatman
8 - Asteroid

Hi,

I'm new to Alteryx and data science/statistics, so please be gentle. :)

I am working with HR data and I have been able to use the Forest Model to produce a probability percentage if an employee will leave the company. I can see which variables are important (using the Variable Importance Plot) so I have an idea of which ones would have a stronger influence.

Is there a way to determine if I changed one of the variables how it would affect the probability percentage? For example, if I gave an individual a higher bonus, their chance of leaving with go down.

The goal is to create a dashboard (using Qlik View) for leadership that says: here are the employees that are most likely to leave the company. If you change these variables (give a higher bonus, move them closer, etc.) this will increase their chances of staying longer with the company.

Is this something that I can do with Alteryx? My gut feeling is that this is a big undertaking that can't be produced too easily without a much deeper understanding of statistics.

Thank you for the help.

5 REPLIES 5
HossC
Alteryx Alumni (Retired)

Hi @gumbatman,

This is absolutely something you can do with Alteryx! In fact, there was an article that just got published on the community that discusses the tools that Alteryx provides for analyzing the partial effect that an independent variable has on a dependent variable. Here is the article: Analyzing Partial Effects in Alteryx