Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Linear regression "The R version 3.6.3 is not installed on this system"

alhabib
5 - Atom

Hi everyone, 

I'm new to Alteryx and learning it as part of my course in school. So I installed a fresh Alteryx 2020.3 along with it's respective analytics package - both admin versions. 

I tried to create a work flow with linear regression, I have the predictive icon in my toolbar at the top and I can drag linear regression onto the screen or tree maps, any and all of them. 

Any time I try to run any of those tools I get the message that "The R version "3.6.3" is not installed on this system". 

The steps I've taken after thoroughly going through the support website and speaking with support by email:

- I have done a clean removal. Through control panel, program data files and tried to remove the reg keys but I can't find them on my system.

- reinstalled 2020.3 + predictive tools package

- used revo uninstaller to uninstall everything since i still couldn't see the registry keys

-installed the fresh new 2020.4+predictive tools

still seeing the same error message. 

At this point my thoughts are that it's a installation path issue. But when I look at the program files for Alteryx I see that R is installed there.

Any help would be super appreciated

Thanks in advance,

AH

15 REPLIES 15
BenMoss
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus

Hi @alhabib 

With Alteryx it's possible to install it with a 'non-admin' installer and an 'admin installer', it's really important that both your designer version and your predictive version both make use of the same 'type' of installer (either both non-admin or both admin).