Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Join multiple fields/conditions including non-exact (potentially using find and replace)

VanessaB
5 - Atom

Hi everyone, 

Complete newbie here but loving the use of Alteryx so far. I have what seemed as a simple enough scenario but I've done plenty of digging and haven't seen a relevant answer for yet. 

• So I was using the join tool which worked well until there were scenarios where I didn't want the exact join but a part of a string (CONTAINS "FU" instead of EQUALS "FU") - for this, I used find and replace tool.
  • The problem is that the original join was on multiple specific fields, which I can't seem to duplicate with any other combination of tools

Data set:

VanessaB_3-1576515771482.png

'Mapping' file:

VanessaB_7-1576516307167.png

So ordinarily I'd use the join tool to match up the first two columns to my data set. No problem until I get to the 3rd field whereby the data in the data set only contains and not completely match.

I've highlighted the first row as an example. So I want to

• Join field 1 >> Category of mapping file (Both CASH)
  • Join field 2 >> Subtype of mapping file (Both CURRENT)
  • Field 3 contains FU (45FU4385) >> IDer of mapping file
  • So the field that should append or join up should be "Future cash"

But if I use find and replace, it will variably be "Future Margin Account" because it isn't matched up to the previous fields and only the third one:

VanessaB_5-1576516143615.png