Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Iterative Macro Configuration

kara_mills
7 - Meteor

I am a novice with macros but understand the value they offer. I am attempting to build an iterative macro to loop through a data set that I have. I'm a visual learner (an explainer) so I will explain with some illustrations and hopefully someone can help me understand what I am doing wrong. I have also attached my file for reference. I did at one point get it to run, but only ran the even numbered rows. When I tried to fix it, I made it worse and cannot seem to get back to that point. I will outline what I've tried and what happens and hopefully someone can help me make sense of it!

My data set is structured with a column for block group ID and then values for each of those ID's. I want to determine the top 5 values for each block group ID and have a final output of those top categories for each BG. I will have other data sets that I would like to run so I thought the iterative macro made sense.

Sample Data SetSample Data Set

I pull this data into the module, join the BG spatial objects and then add a record before it heads into the macro.

Data ModuleData Module

When I run the module, I get the error: "Tool #10: Parse Error at char(1): Unknown variable "RecordID"". I know that the data that is going into the macro has RecordID included- both what's coming through the module and the file input that I used (see below).

MacroMacro

Macro Input DataMacro Input Data