Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Iterative Macro Configuration

kara_mills
7 - Meteor

I am a novice with macros but understand the value they offer. I am attempting to build an iterative macro to loop through a data set that I have. I'm a visual learner (an explainer) so I will explain with some illustrations and hopefully someone can help me understand what I am doing wrong. I have also attached my file for reference. I did at one point get it to run, but only ran the even numbered rows. When I tried to fix it, I made it worse and cannot seem to get back to that point. I will outline what I've tried and what happens and hopefully someone can help me make sense of it!

My data set is structured with a column for block group ID and then values for each of those ID's. I want to determine the top 5 values for each block group ID and have a final output of those top categories for each BG. I will have other data sets that I would like to run so I thought the iterative macro made sense.

Sample Data SetSample Data Set

I pull this data into the module, join the BG spatial objects and then add a record before it heads into the macro.

Data ModuleData Module

When I run the module, I get the error: "Tool #10: Parse Error at char(1): Unknown variable "RecordID"". I know that the data that is going into the macro has RecordID included- both what's coming through the module and the file input that I used (see below).

MacroMacro

Macro Input DataMacro Input Data