Get Inspire insights from former attendees in our AMA discussion thread on Inspire Buzz. ACEs and other community members are on call all week to answer!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Iterating through a range of dates

feedsoal
6 - Meteoroid

Hello!

I'm new to Alteryx and I'm translating some code from ACL Analytics to Alteryx workflows.

Here is the issue:

I need to iterate over a range of dates to perform some tests with given conditions, and I'm pretty confused on how exactly I can do it with iterative macros.

I wrote some piece of code using R just to represent the kind of iteration I need.

library(lubridate)

# User Input
start_date <- ym("201401")

# User Input
end_date <- ym("202009")

# Variables
var_date <- add_with_rollback(start_date,months(-1))
var_date_end <- end_date

# While Loop
while(var_date < var_date_end){
  var_date <- add_with_rollback(var_date,months(1))
  print(var_date)
}

And this is the output:

[1] "2014-01-01"
[1] "2014-02-01"
[1] "2014-03-01"
[1] "2014-04-01"
[1] "2014-05-01"
[1] "2020-06-01"
[1] "2020-07-01"
[1] "2020-08-01"
[1] "2020-09-01"

Basically, I just want to guarantee that in each iteration, my tests will be performed considering 201401 first, then 201402, until 202009. Is iterative macro the way? How?

Unfortunately I couldn't find the help I need with Alteryx videos only.

Additionally, I could "almost" find a way using generate row tool, but it would turn my dataset with 7,000,000 lines to a monstrous dataset with 500,000,000+ lines.

Thank you! 

4 REPLIES 4
PhilipMannering
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Hey @feedsoal 

Best way is using the multi-row.

See attached.

PhilipMannering_0-1605633319235.png

P

feedsoal
6 - Meteoroid

Thank you for the reply!

Well, I notice how the flow works in your example. But, how it will be stored in my "var_date" variable until the process is complete?