Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Iterate through data to send multiple PDFs

superjesse
8 - Asteroid

Hello all,

I'm trying to send multiple PDFs to different people. I basically have a file with name and other data points, and I want to send a standard PDF to each person with their name and other data inserted into the PDF dynamically. I have about 30 people so I would send out 30 PDFs.

I searched on the community but could not find the solution yet, or it's above my skillset at this point (I'm a rookie). I just basically need some sort of loop to create the 30 PDFs and insert their name, market, etc. into each PDF. I tried with the reporting tool and it worked for the first one, so just need it to loop now.

I attached a screenshot since the data is sensitive. Please let me know if this will suffice. And thanks in advance. This community is very helpful.

Capture.JPG

12 REPLIES 12
neilgallen
12 - Quasar

@superjesse You want to group the data into separate reports in the render tool. There is a checkbox option for this:

render into multiple files.PNG

You can use a field in your data to define the grouping for each file. Looks like that it may be the text field you're creating in the report text tool. In this case you could replace the filename with the grouping field and each filename would be unique.

Are you planning to use alteryx to send the pdfs via email? if so there's a few more steps you'd have to consider, but you didn't specify distribution method.

Good luck!

superjesse
8 - Asteroid

Thank you for the quick response. I will give this a try today. Yes, we want to distribute via email. You mentioned there may be a couple extra steps. I would appreciate any more guidance.