Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Issue with XML output macro

ylamlih
7 - Meteor

Hi All,

I haven't used any macro's before so apologies in advance if I'm making a rookie error here but my issue is as follows.

I'm trying to output data from a workflow into XML format (bare in mind I've been asked to supply data in XML, however I've never done anything with XML before).

The current text output of my workflow is very simple and basic:

ylamlih_0-1611403833191.png

The macro I've found and tried to use is the following: https://gallery.alteryx.com/#!app/XML-Output/565bfd4caa690a12542665e3

Regardless of whether I use the macro in workflow mode or the file mode, I get the following error:

2021-01-23_12-16-47.png

I've configured the Macro as follows when in file mode:

2021-01-23_12-18-06.png

Any idea if what I'm trying to do is at all possible, and if so, what it is I'm missing here?

Many thanks!

Yassine

9 REPLIES 9
AngelosPachis
16 - Nebula

Hi @ylamlih ,

May I ask on which version of Alteryx are you on?

danilang
19 - Altair
19 - Altair

Hi @ylamlih 

This does appear to be a bug.  If you look at the macro you can see that the only Detour tool is properly terminated by a Detour End and there's no way for the output container to be disabled.  

danilang_0-1611407132399.png

The Macro itself has had 3 versions and so It must have worked at some point in previous versions of Designer.  I think this may be case to send to support@alteryx.com

Update:  This macro runs fine in 2019.4, but breaks in 2020.3

Dan

ylamlih
7 - Meteor

Hi @AngelosPachis ,

I believe I'm on the latest version: 2020.4.5.12471

ylamlih
7 - Meteor

Hi @danilang,

Ahh I see, so pure compatibility issue then.