Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.

Issue with Google Sheets Authentication from Gallery

csh8428
11 - Bolide

DISCLAIMER: I already posted this in the Server sub, but haven't gotten any traction. So, I figured I'd try here as well.

I am an admin for both the Alteryx Gallery AND the physical server that the Gallery sits on. I can run workflows that have google sheets connectors from the Gallery because I can create and run the workflows in Designer desktop on the physical server to go through the google authentication process.

The issue we are running into is with our other non-server admins. They can create and run workflows with google sheets connectors from their local desktop Designer; however, they cannot run those workflows from the Gallery because they cannot go through the authentication process because they are not admins on the Gallery server.

I know this is not an “Alteryx” issue, but a server related one. Does anybody know of a workaround or a way to “transfer” whatever the google authentication process produces from a user’s local desktop to the server that houses the Gallery so that any user can run a workflow from the gallery that has google sheets connectors in it?

12 REPLIES 12
IraWatt
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hey @csh8428,

Are you using OAuth 2 or Connection tolken to authenticate? From the sounds of it you need to use the OAuth approache.

All the best,

Ira  

csh8428
11 - Bolide

@IraWatt We don't check either of the "Optional" boxes when authenticating. We just click "connect" and it launches a browser that does the usual google log-in authentication. If I use the "Optional OAth2 Overrides" box I get this:

auth error.png

IraWatt
17 - Castor
17 - Castor