Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Issue Connecting to the SharePoint List Input

eve_mcg
5 - Atom

I am brand new to Alteryx. I am currently using Designer 10, and connected to a base SharePoint library using the SharePoint List Input tool, but I don't know where to go from here -- I need to dig much deeper into the SharePoint library. (SharePoint version is at least 2010 -- possibly 2013)

For example, when I connect, I can pick up the base Document Library in the "List" dropdown, and the only View I can select is "All Documents - Default." So far so good.

A browse into this shows me the a list of folders, including the first folder I will need to drill into (e.g Layer 1).

However, I will then need to drill down 2 more levels deep to get the appropriate list.

I can get as far as an URL in the format of:

https://share.domain.net/sites/MainDirectory/LibraryName/

If I attempt to identify any folders beyond that, the configuration tool declares it is an invalid directory.

Steps I've tried thus far:

-- removing https and formatting as directory url

-- removing https and trying as an internet url

-- adding escape characters in the URL for HTML formatting

-- NOT using escape characters in the URL

Is there another tool I need to bring in to loop through and pick up the correct list so I can then browse the contents of the correct list that is 2 or 3 levels deeper?

17 REPLIES 17
cajer_air
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Jason,

I tried your method. I'm trying to read an Excel file in our SharePoint. But it still doesn't work for me. Then I tried Directory tool. Still doesn't work.

Do you have any clue for any solution? Thank you!connect to sharepoint file.PNG

GGuenther
7 - Meteor