Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Input multiple Excel files with multiple sheets with same layout but without header

dbuz
7 - Meteor

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie with Alteryx and was wondering if you could help me with my problem. I know a lot of questions like this have already been asked, but I couldn't find a thread that meets my needs.

I would like to load several sheets from different xlsx files from a directory into Alteryx, but the problem is that the second sheet of each excel file does not have any header, so I would need to copy / paste the header of the first sheet into the second, only if the second sheet present some data inside. Sometimes I work on files that have only one sheet with data, where this process is not required and other times I work on files with multiple sheets and this should only apply to those files.

With that done, Alteryx should load all sheets from all files and consolidate all data into one dataset, which I will work on.

Any kind of help in this regard will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

12 REPLIES 12
mceleavey
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hi @dbuz ,

I built a couple of tools to do exactly this.

The problem is that when you try to use the Dynamic Input tool you need to select a template, which the common format of each file input. If the schema changes, for example different columns exist, then the dynamic input tool will error.

I've attached the two tools and an example workflow:

mceleavey_0-1623091657337.png

The first tool reads in every sheet name within each workbook and adds it to the filename as you need this when loading in Excel files. This then gets joined back to the main stream to be loaded into the second tool: