Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Input a changing file that has same path & same name

chase_maxwell
6 - Meteoroid

Hello everyone,

I am new to Alteryx and haven't been able to find the solution on any forums (I believe its simple!)

I have a folder on a share drive that contains source files such as "DRL NEW" and several other excel files. Every quarter these excel files are replaced with updated versions with the same exact name. Is there a way I can have Alteryx search for the name of the file rather than the exact file itself? This then causes error when removed and replaced. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated! 

Chase

8 REPLIES 8
ChrisTX
15 - Aurora

Try the Directory tool, then the Filter tool - for the file name you're looking for, then the Count tool.

chase_maxwell
6 - Meteoroid

I can get the directory to notice that I have the file, and the filter tool to get the correct version. However where does the count tool come into play?

I have a source document labeled "DRL NEW.xlsx" and every quarter i will replace it with the same file name but containing different internal data with the same fields. How can I get Alteryx to recognize this without having to manually update it. 

If I simply use the input data tool, I would have to go through hundreds of instances every quarter for the different workflows I am building to change the source document. I am hoping Alteryx can find a different excel file that is updated quarterly with the same name in the same place without me having to manually go in and click it. 

Does my question make sense?

ChrisTX
15 - Aurora

I thought you only wanted to search for the name of the file. So the Count tool would be > 0 if the file exists.

If you want to use the file in your data stream, after the Filter tool you would use the Dynamic Input tool.

chase_maxwell
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Chris,