Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Input Data vs Connect In-DB

smixon
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Community,

I'm new to Alteryx and this may be a real simple question, but I haven't found anything (at least in the five or so minutes I've been looking).   What is truly the difference between connecting to a database (Oracle in this instance) with the "Input Data Tool" and using the SQL editor with a pre-written script versus using the "Connect In-DB" tool with the same database and pre-written script?

For this example, let's say I do something really simple like execute the query and export it to an Excel workbook.  I know that you get other functions with the In-DB tools if you start with the "Connect In-DB" tool, but I'm just wondering from an input perspective if there is a difference.

Thanks!

7 REPLIES 7
AmeliaG
Alteryx
Alteryx

Hi @smixon,

Thanks for your question! 

In your use case, there is very little difference. Whether the SQL query runs in the input data tool or in the Connect-in DB tool, it will be executed on the database. The only difference is if the data is returned over the network. With the regular input data tool, the data will be automatically streamed over the network into local memory on your computer. With the Connect-in DB tool, the data will only be streamed out of the database if you use the 'Data Stream Out' tool. 

Therefore, if you simply want to output to an Excel sheet, the two workflows would look like:

indb.png

Both of these workflow are effectively doing the same thing. 

smixon
6 - Meteoroid

Awesome! Thanks for the reply!

AmeliaG
Alteryx
Alteryx