Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Input Data Errors - problem with excel formula

newbiee
6 - Meteoroid

Hi all,

I am new in alteryx community (my first subject) and I have an issue with a data input. Database table have formulas in a rows(excel file). After uploading it to the alteryx i get incorrect result of the formulas. In excel file the result of the formula '=G45' gives me string 'Record' in alteryx it shows '00:00:00'. I tried to look for the answer but I haven't found anything. Thank you in advance for help or any suggestions...

KR

Lukas

8 REPLIES 8
BenMoss
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus

Hey, welcome to the community!

Is it possible to post the excel file that is causing the issue? If not could you recreate the issue with a censored excel file?

Ben

NicoleJohnson
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus

Actually, I ran into a situation like this recently with an odd field showing up like a date, pretty sure I know what's causing it - the field that is in your Excel file is probably formatted as a Time format... so even though it looks right in Excel because Excel sees that it's a word not a time, when Alteryx reads the file, it tries to make the data match the formats that are designated in the Excel file, so it's converting it to Time (and a word converted to time will show up as 00:00:00...)

So if you can change the format of that field in your original Excel file to General or Text or something like that, you should be good to go! :)

NJ

newbiee
6 - Meteoroid

Hi Nicole, yep that works. Is there any option to not change that in the data file but in alteryx after upload?

Thanks again!

NicoleJohnson
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus