Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Imputation tool changes continuous variables to all null values

danielreedsmith
7 - Meteor

Hi Everyone, 

I'm a newbie to Alteryx and I can't figure out what I am doing wrong. I am trying to do some very simple Imputations by changing null values in a field set to double double that has Nulls to impute the average on the cells with Nulls. When I do it it doesn't impute the few cells instead it changes everything to Null in the field. 

Please let me know where I am going wrong or please point me to the resources I can use because I can't find anything in the documentation that addresses this issue. Thanks!

Dan

5 REPLIES 5
NicoleJohnson
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus

Can you perhaps attach an example of the starting data you're working with (dummy data is fine), your expected (correct) results, and then the incorrect results you are currently seeing? That should help us better troubleshoot and provide some suggestions! Thanks!

NJ

NicoleJohnson
ACE Emeritus
ACE Emeritus

Actually, took a look... I think there are two options:

Option 1: There is an Imputation tool in the Preparation category of tools (not sure if you're using this already?), but if you select the field you wish to impute with the average of that field, and then select Average from the Incoming Values to Replace options, that should give you what you need?

Option 2: Much longer, and results in the same answer as the above Option #1... but still an option :)

1. Summarize the values in your double field with a Summarize tool, using the AvgNo() option (which will give you the average of all the non-Null cells)

2. Append this average to your original dataset with an Append tool

3. Use the formula tool to replace nulls with the average value: IF ISNULL([Field1]) THEN [AvgNo()_Field1] ELSE [Field1] ENDIF