Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Iferror Vlookup help!!

Metadata21
8 - Asteroid

Hi, I am new to using Alteryx and have been stuck on this for hours, how would I transform this formula into an Alteryx workflow?

Please help me

Appreciate the support!

9 REPLIES 9
Qiu
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

@Metadata21 
Your Excel file would be really helpful if you could share.

IraWatt
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hey @Metadata21,

Cant exactly see the formula in the screenshot but VLookups are essentially Joins in Alteryx. The only difference being Alteryx will join on every record where as Vlook ups join on the first record which matches only. I've attached the example join workflow. If you have any further questions make sure to ask.

HTH,

Ira

Metadata21
8 - Asteroid

IFFERROR.PNG

IraWatt
17 - Castor
17 - Castor

Hey @Metadata21,

Would you be able to share the excel file with the data (or dummy data) with the formula? I cant copy the data from a screenshot.

Metadata21
8 - Asteroid

Hi - now attached 

Metadata21
8 - Asteroid

now attached with excel file - basically i would need to create a new column with each of the formulas included within the cells 

DawnDuong
13 - Pulsar
13 - Pulsar

Hi @Metadata21 

The excel formula can be replicated with a Join tool. I explain below the schematics so that you can try again in Alteryx. Basically you want to achieve the results of nested ifs.

First, let's analyze the Excel formula to see what the logic tree looks like:

1. IF AQ matches any value in column DE THEN set value to be equal to the value of numerically formatted value in column DF of the matched row