Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

Identifying Sequential Numbers in a String

kelsey_kincaid
12 - Quasar

Hi all- I'm working on identifying financial accounts that might be 'Sample' accounts. I've been finding account numbers in my data like '123456' or '5678901' that I've confirmed with business users are indeed fictitious accounts used for testing purposes. What I would like to do is find a way to isolate the digits in these account numbers to test if they are sequential so I can review to see if they are testing/sample accounts. 

I'm thinking there's probably something I can do in RegEx to help me but I'm not very experienced with RegEx and am unsure where to start. I'm sure there's also a macro solution, but am feeling a little stuck overall. I would love guidance/opinions on the best approach and how to get started. Thank you in advance!

Account Number (Input)Is Sequential? (Desired Output)
Z5160FALSE
2345TRUE
7890123TRUE
012345TRUE
12345678TRUE
1589673FALSE
987654TRUE

12 REPLIES 12
MarqueeCrew
20 - Arcturus
20 - Arcturus

@kelsey_kincaid,

Interesting challenge.  Thanks!  Instead of a "solution", I put together a possible path to the solution.  In the workflow (attached), I count the observations of numbers ascending, descending and equal when you compare each digit to the prior.  You could modify to ascending 13579 as an example and not flag that number because the numbers differ by more than 1 digit.  If 9 out of 9 digits are ascending, our 9 out of 16 digits are ascending, that might be a hit.  Your business logic rules.  I'm just demonstrating an approach to be refined.

Cheers,

Mark

Alteryx ACE & Top Community Contributor

Chaos reigns within. Repent, reflect and restart. Order shall return.
Please Subscribe to my youTube channel.
DiegoParker
10 - Fireball

Hi Kayers,

You could try FindString("1234567890123456789",[String])<0