Community Spring Cleaning week is here! Join your fellow Maveryx in digging through your old posts and marking comments on them as solved. Learn more here!

Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How to save diff output files to the same excel but in diff tabs

dattina2287
8 - Asteroid

hi, 

i am new to Alteryx and building several workflows that i would like to export to the same excel file but just in separate tabs. When i try to save the second output file to the xlsx that i already used for the first one, it asks if i want to replace the excel, which i don't. 

How can i save the second output file as a separate tab in the original excel file?

Thanks!

7 REPLIES 7
DataNath
17 - Castor

Hey @dattina2287, as you’re outputting to excel, unless you specify a sheet name then all of your outputs will default to ‘Sheet1’. Therefore, once your first workflow saves and creates the first file, the others will just try to rewrite this.

If you go to your Output Data tool, where you specify the filepath, delete everything after ‘.xlsx’ and replace it with |||<Sheet Name>, where <Sheet Name> is whatever you want it to be called. Or you can do this in the original set up, when you specify the output type and the location it'll be saved to, this should pop up and you can just change it from 'Sheet1':

DataNath_1-1655842178523.png

First method:

DataNath_2-1655842217869.png

DataNath_3-1655842227433.pngDataNath_4-1655842247532.png

dattina2287
8 - Asteroid

this worked perfectly - thank you so much!

dattina2287
8 - Asteroid