Alteryx Designer Desktop Discussions

Find answers, ask questions, and share expertise about Alteryx Designer Desktop and Intelligence Suite.
SOLVED

How to remove a string of text with Regex tool?

TwanD
7 - Meteor

Hi everyone,

I have been using 'Text to Column' tool and that has been working fine but I really want to get into using the 'Regex' tool because of its capabilities. Granted I'm a novice at this so a lot of trials and errors to get things to work but for the life of me I can't figure out how to write the expression properly to replace the field with a string of text I want.

Original text string:

Sum_STATUTORY.O1 Entity Name

And I want just this:

O1 Entity Name

I understand I can use the replace function in Regex tool to accomplish this but I just haven't been able to write out the expression to accomplish it. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

10 REPLIES 10
Kenda
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

Hello again @TwanD! I would actually suggest using the Formula tool with an expression like the following:

REGEX_Replace([Field1], ".*\.(.*)","$1")

This will only keep what's after the period from your field. Hope this helps!

TwanD
7 - Meteor

@BarnesK, thank you so much, you're the best! so the Regex formula is similar to what is in the Regex tool?

TwanD
7 - Meteor

Also could you please explain the logic in that regex formula, like what is it doing? thank you.

Kenda
16 - Nebula
16 - Nebula

@TwanD similar, yes. I tend to like to use the Formula tool just because it is what I'm used to using and you can do multiple things at once.